header
facebook youtube

Home About Residential Employment & Meaningful Day Equestrian Events Support Contact
About Us | Leadership | Careers | Resource Links

About Us

about

For over 50 years, Star Community has supported people with disabilities in achieving their goals and living a meaningful life filled with opportunity.

We provide person-centered programs that adapt to everyone’s unique pathway throughout life, ensuring every person's life is cultivated by their passions, goals, and desires.

By supporting people in connecting with their community, we envision a world where everyone supported achieves limitless possibilities.


Code of Ethics


Core Value:  Leadership
Ethical Principal:  Star will provide an open and supportive environment which will enhance the lives the people supported.

Core Value:  Integrity
Ethical Principal:  Star is committed to doing the right thing.

Core Value:  Professionalism
Ethical Principle:  Star will be credible in providing person centered services for the people supported.

Core Value:  Innovation
Ethical Principle:  Star will be forward thinking in meeting tomorrow’s challenges by being creative and visionary.

Core Value:  Trust
Ethical Principle:  Star will treat the people supported and staff the same way each would want to be treated.

Core Value:  Choice
Ethical Principle:  Star will support each person in making choices that lead to a Meaningful Life.


Leadership


Board of Directors

Board Officers
Jamie Geary-Mullendore, President
Amy Whittington, Secretary

Board Members
Anthony Akers
Russel Burton
Maurice Cahn
Timothy Campbell
Thomas Paton
Gordon (Mac) Roberts III
Barbara Rossini
Dr. Alfred Smith
Pastor Dennis Whitmore
Jennifer Woodruff

Legacy Board
Kristin Drake
Kellie Smeresky

Staff Directors

Luann Brechbill, M.Ed., MS
Executive Director
301-791-0011 x1304
LBrechbill@starcommunityinc.org

Lisa Thomas
Human Resources Director
301-791-0011 x1309
lthomas@starcommunityinc.org

Caroline Sayres
Director of Development
301-791-0011 x1308
csayres@starcommunityinc.org
Rachel Doyle
STAR Equestrian Center Director
301-791-6222
rdoyle@starcommunityinc.org

Amber Weaver
Director of Employment and Meaningful Day Services
301-791-0011 x1114
aweaver@starcommunityinc.org

Lisa Ausherman
Residential Director
301-791-0011 x1315
lausherman@starcommunityinc.org

Cheryl Null
Finance Director
301-791-0011 x1303
cnull@starcommunityinc.org

Darin Shoop
Maintenance Director
301-791-2049 x1102
dshoop@starcommunityinc.org

Rob Burdette, RN, MS
Quality Assurance/Director of Nursing
301-791-2049 x1312
rburdette@starcommunityinc.org

 

   

Careers
 
Star community seeks employees with compassion, empathy, commitment and talent. When you join Star, we will provide you with job-specific training so that you will be well prepared to preform your job to the fullest.

While qualifications for positions vary, minimum qualifications for all staff include:

Careers

Lisa Thomas
Human Resource Director
lthomas@starcommunityinc.org
Phone: 301-791-0011 x1309
Fax: 301-791-0018

View Current Job Openings and Apply:
https://jobs.smartrecruiters.com/?company=StarCommunityInc1 »


Star Resource Links