header
facebook youtube

Home About Residential Employment & Meaningful Day Equestrian Events Support Contact
About Us | Leadership | Careers | Resource Links

About Us


Over forty years ago, Richard and Audrey Tebbs gave birth to their third child, a baby girl who they named Anita Lynne. Anita Lynne was born with profound disabilities including cerebral palsy.

about

Star offers a comprehensive range of residential, day program and equestrian opportunities based in faith and executed with love and respect for the individuals served.Instead of institutionalizing their young daughter (which was customary at that time), the Tebbs transformed their lives into a cause for celebration and founded the Anita Lynne Home in 1970a place that had the warmth and closeness of family coupled with staff skilled in teaching children with intellectual disabilities. It was their vision to do all of this in a Christian atmosphere.

Today, Star Community remains true to that vision. What began as a home for four young children is now a vibrant, growing organization comprised of 10 distinct residences, a day program and an equestrian program located on 145 acres. Within our scenic setting Star's facilities include two greenhouses, an indoor swimming pool, nature trail and a handicapped accessible fishing pond.


Leadership


Board of Directors

Board Officers
Timothy Campbell, President
Jamie Geary-Mullendore, Vice President
Amy Whittington, Secretary
Scott Toms, Treasurer

Board Members
Anthony Akers
Russel Burton
Maurice Cahn
Dr. Michael Gould
Melissa Hahn
Tom Paton
Dr. Alfred Smith
Barbara Rossini
Jennifer Woodruff

Board Member Emeritus
Gordon (Mac) Roberts III

Legacy Board
Kristin Drake
Kellie Smeresky

Staff Directors

Luann Brechbill, M.Ed., MS
Executive Director
301-791-0011 x304
LBrechbill@starcommunityinc.org

Lisa Thomas
Human Resources Director
301-791-0011 x309
lthomas@starcommunityinc.org

Caroline Sayres
Director of Development
301-791-0011 x308
csayres@starcommunityinc.org

Rachel Doyle
STAR Equestrian Center Director
301-791-6222
rdoyle@starcommunityinc.org

Daniel Thorpe
Director of Employment and Meaningful Day Services
301-791-2049
dthorpe@starcommunityinc.org

Tara Cook
Residential Director
301-791-2049 x107
tcook@starcommunityinc.org

Cheryl Null
Finance Director
301-791-0011 x303
cnull@starcommunityinc.org

Darin Shoop
Maintenance Director
301-791-2049 x102
dshoop@starcommunityinc.org

Lisa Lushbaugh, RN
Healthcare Director
301-791-2049 x112
llushbaugh@starcommunityinc.org


Careers
 
Star community seeks employees with compassion, empathy, commitment and talent. When you join Star, we will provide you with job-specific training so that you will be well prepared to preform your job to the fullest.

While qualifications for positions vary, minimum qualifications for all staff include:

Careers

Lisa Thomas
Human Resource Director
lthomas@starcommunityinc.org
Phone: 301-791-0011 x309
Fax: 301-791-0018

View Current Job Openings and Apply:
https://jobs.smartrecruiters.com/?company=StarCommunityInc1 »


Star Resource Links